Milman Road floods

Heavy rain during the evening of 18 July quickly led to rising water levels at the west end of Milman Road which threatened to enter properties, including the playground of New Christ Church primary school.

Local resident Adam (pictured) attempted to clear the drains of debris armed with a washing pole. This is not the first time that this has occurred, but the council say that there is nothing they can do about it,” he said.

The road slopes down towards the wall and water running along the gutters builds up if it cannot escape through drains blocked by leaves and litter.


Links

3 thoughts on “Milman Road floods

    • Yes; I think that’s exactly what they mean. The council have told me that if I collect the leaf matter from the highway to clear the drains because the council won’t do it, and put it in my own bins, they will charge me for green waste collection, so I don’t do that now. I don’t know how much punishment that Victorian wall can take; but neither the council nor the school were interested in this either when I told them about it 10 years ago.

      Like

Have your say

