Election of Reading’s Mayor 2017

Reading Borough Council’s official 2017 season starts with the council annual general meeting (AGM) at the Town Hall on Wednesday 24 May when Reading’s mayor will be elected.

This event will not be webcast, so the only chance to see the proceedings is to attend in person. The audience is required to stand up and sit down at precise points in the choreographed ceremony. There is also a pause in proceedings while the newly elected mayor and deputy mayor leave the room to change into their robes.

The retiring mayor is councillor Mohammed Ayub who is expected to be replaced by the retiring deputy mayor, Katesgrove councillor Rose Williams. The mayor has a ceremonial role and also chairs full council meetings as set out in the council constitution.

The ceremonial role includes:

  • acting as the first citizen of the borough and representing the council at civic and other functions where the council is invited to be represented
  • promoting the image of the council in all functions involving the council or the mayoralty
  • attending such civic and ceremonial functions as the council and he/she determines appropriate.

Other standing business at the AGM is to elect the leader and deputy leader of the council and lead councillors and fix the dates of the 2017/18 full council meetings.

As a snap general election has been called, the meeting also has some important statutory matters to process. The council will be asked to approve the change of two polling stations, one in Battle ward and one in Caversham ward, and to indemnify the returning officer against costs ‘arising from the conduct of the 2017 parliamentary elections, and future parliamentary, European and local elections and referendums by himself and his staff which are not covered by the Council’s insurance policy.’

This meeting will take place at the Town Hall at 6.30pm. Any member of the public who wants to watch the event from the public gallery needs to arrive by 6.20pm as the meeting will start promptly.

Reading Town Hall
Blagrave Street


  1. Reading Council AGM
  2. Our Mayor
  3. RBC Constitution
  4. Lead councillors and committee chairs
  5. Parliamentary General Election – Indemnity and Polling Stations