The former Four Horseshoes Pub is being demolished and will be replaced by 2 blocks of student accommodation, comprising 34 rooms.
Most recently a restaurant, the ‘Eastern Pearl‘, the ‘Four Horseshoes’ was a landmark on the Basingstoke Road. Long after the pub closed the No 6 bus stop retained the name ‘Four Horseshoes’ but it has now been renamed ‘Longbarn Lane’.
The current building replaced an earlier historic pub. It may have been the model for the pub that Mary Mitford wrote of in her 1835 description of the approach to the town of Belford Regis, a barely disguised Reading, ‘…the series of buildings called the Long Row, terminating at the end next the road with an old-fashioned and most picturesque public-house, with pointed roofs, and benches at the door, and round the large elm before it, – benches which are generally filled by thirsty wayfarers, and waggoners watering their horses and partaking a more generous liquor themselves.’